Chris and Joe iMessage Banter: Part 1

What do Chris and Joe talk about through iMessage?  Here’s a selection of the past week of texting between the two.  DISCLAIMER- none of this was staged.  These are actual conversations.

 

Is Georgetown a title contender? (March 9, 2013)

CHRIS: “Georgetown doesn’t suck.  Hopefully you’ll realize that one day.”

JOE: “they don’t suck, but they’re not a title contender like you think they are.”

CHRIS: “Oh.  Ok.  Forgot you were the chancellor of these things.  BYU gonna win the WCC right?”

JOE: “No I think Gonzaga will probably win.  I’m not the chancellor of anything.  I just don’t see what you’re seeing from Georgetown.  Like do you watch them play?  They look lost on offense.”

CHRIS: “I like the defense.  I like Porter obviously, he really might be the best all around player in the country.  And I like how guys like Starks and Smith-Rivera have stepped up.  They may not be the best team in the country, but they have the look of a team with a deep run in them.”

JOE: “Ok, I understand the defense and Porter they are very good, but its very hard to make deep runs without consistent offense in the tournament.  Like they just stand there and shoot threes all game and they’re not that good at them.”

CHRIS: “But having a defense as good as that is a great fallback when the offense is off.  Plus I expect Porter to go nuts.  Look at Wisconsin.  They do it most years.”

JOE: “When’s the last time Wisconsin made a DEEP run?”

CHRIS: “I’d have to look that up.”
JOE: “2008.  Elite 8.  8 years ago.”

CHRIS: “Look I see your point, I just like what I see more than I dislike what you’re saying.”

 

March 10, 2013

JOE: “This is just nuts dude.  I wish more people actually cared”

CHRIS: “Dude this really is the craziest season.  Even the smaller conferences are having upsets.  Everyone went to bed and I’m drinking bud light limes and watching west coast basketball.  The life.”

 

CHRIS: “Everyone’s in trouble.  DON’T YOU GET IT.  PROVIDENCE WINS BIG EAST.  IOWA WINS BIG TEN.  FLORIDA ST. WINS ACC.  USC WINS PAC 12.”

Joe: “Ok calm down.”

CHRIS: “LSU WINS SEC.  TEXAS WINS BIG 12.  WE ALL DIE.”

 

March 12, 2013

JOE: “THE BLACKBIRDS ARE DANCING.”

CHRIS: “Btw tell pops I said congrats on the Blackbirds.”

CHRIS: “#WOW^”

JOE: “Hahaha good one bro.  SAME PAGE.”

CHRIS: “The hall.  Will win.  The Big East.”
JOE: “Right.”

 

CHRIS: “NAGY.  NATE.  SWEETER.  WE DID IT.  WE’RE GOING DANCING.”

JOE: “YEAAAA BUDDY.”

 

March 13, 2013- on Victor Oladipo and other draft prospects

CHRIS: “Does Victor Oladipo remind you of Dwyane Wade at all?”

JOE: “That’s what everyone’s saying.  Not really actually.  I saw Luol Deng.”

CHRIS: “I mean, Wade is an exaggeration, but they’re both explosive shot blocking guards who are good at getting to the basket.  Both played for Tom Crean too.”

JOE: “Yea I feel like Oladipo is a little bigger I think he’s a better shooter but I can see it.  I honestly think he’s gonna be a star.  I’d take him 1 overall.”
CHRIS: “I really like Smart and Shabazz.”

JOE: “I haven’t seen Shabazz play enough.  I’d take him over Smart though.  I just feel like he’s so good and underrated still cuz they don’t use him enough.  Oladipo that is.”

CHRIS: “Yea it’s actually funny.  He’s undoubtedly Indiana’s best player and without him, they really wouldn’t be any better than a 3 seed.  He’s so much more valuable than Zeller.”

JOE: “Yea I agree.  Zeller is so containable.”

CHRIS: “Well he’s a big man who runs the floor and play in the post.  The dynamic of that is so much different than Victor.”

JOE: “I know I’m just saying when they play their respective games Oladipo is so much more dynamic.  Zeller needs to learn how to pass out of the post.  Really would instantly make me like him.”

 

March 15, 2013- on whether or not NCAAB is best sport out there

CHRIS: “How right is my tweet?”

JOE: “It’s not COMPLETELY right, cuz football is right there with it, but I’d say nothing is close to those 2.”

CHRIS: “My explanation is that it has the best postseason, players play with the most passion because they’re not being paid, most variety and unpredictability, and is old school and fundamental in the way it’s played.  Football may be more exciting, but that might be it.”

JOE: “Yea BUT even though players are getting paid in football what separates it from other professional sports is that most of the money is performance-based which is why I would argue that the players try just as hard AND there is a ridiculous amount of strategy as well.  I will give you that college basketball has a better postseason though but a major reason for that is because there are a lot more games.”

JOE: “We should start publishing our debates and using our blog page for most text-based stuff.”
CHRIS: “Yeah I really think we should have like a weekly column that are just our random thoughts throughout the week through text.”

 

… Well here ya go.

Leave a Reply

